Under the jurisdiction of California law, you are entitled to rest and meal breaks, most especially if you work as a non-relieved employee. If per chance you work for more than 5 hours in a workday, you are entitled to a 30-minutes meal break and you are entitled to 10 minutes break for every 4 hours you work. Rest and meal breaks cause employers lots of confusion because both the federal law and the California meal breaks laws require employers to meet a certain requirement. For instance, rest and meals breaks are not actually required under the federal law while according to California break laws, the provision of rest and meals breaks is a requirement.
In addition, the laws at some point can seem very tricky. For example, Meal breaks are not regarded as work time under the federal law, meaning that an employer is not required to reward you for the time you spend while observing these breaks. On the other hand, short breaks of about 5 to 20 minutes are referred to as compensable work time, thus it is expected that it is included in the total work hours for the week. This is how California provides for rest and meal breaks under the California Employment Law:
Meal Breaks under California Employment Law
If per chance you are entitled to work for more than 5 hours, you are entitled to 30 minutes unpaid meal break. If on the other hand, your work hour is not more than 6 hours, then you and your employer can have a chat to relinquish your meal break. This is very much possible if you are the employee under your employer, for instance, if you are working in a kiosk or store and there is no one available to take your space.
In addition, if you are entitled to over 120 hours of work time, you are entitled to a second meal break, but if on the other hand, your working hours are not more than 12 hours, you can also have a chat with your employer to relinquish it. This is applicable if and only if you do not relinquish the first meal break, meaning that you cannot both meal breaks relinquished for a single day.